A Geocaching Adventure with Conservation Halton: Thanks For the Cache (TFTC)

Written by: Erin Worgan, Marketing Intern

Before reading please note: this blog post may contain spoilers on cache locations and appearances.

I am a beginner novice cacher, but after this experience, it’s become a fun weekly outing for me. Some of the best caches are placed right here in conservation areas– including over fifteen caches placed by Conservation Halton staff alone! Geocaching is a great outdoor activity. Take in some of the beautiful scenery, and view the biodiversity in Halton Parks.

Recently, I hunted for the seventeen geocaches the ConsHaltonCache account has placed across all seven of the featured parks in one day. It is no easy feat.  I began my journey at the Conservation Halton Burlington Office. It was a quick find and was a great start to a long, strenuous, but adventurous day. A lesson I learned very quickly on my journey was to pack the bug juice and to put it on before venturing onto the trails. Putting it on after finding the first cache was already too little too late.

An Official Geocache in Halton Parks

An Official Geocache in Halton Parks

I mapped out my route through all of the parks so my closest cache from the headquarters starting point was one hidden at Mount Nemo, the first of the “Fall Into Nature” series. From Mount Nemo, to the Moccasin Trail, to Rattlesnake Point, I found treasures all over the parks.

I’m not going to lie, a few caches had me “stumped” (hint hint), while others were pretty quick finds, but all in all, it was a fun hunt through Halton Parks. Ultimately I only found ten of the seventeen caches, because I soon realized that I wanted to slow down and absorb the natural spaces I searched through. The scenery is the best part!

Rattlesnake Point and Mount Nemo are two of Conservation Halton’s prime locations for taking in a beautiful view, as both parks have designated lookout points. Mount Nemo in particular has more accessible trails with route options for all hiking abilities and offers an unparalleled view of Milton from the edge of the escarpment.

The Conservation Halton staff are serious about the placement of a foreign container the environment. Staff protect the watershed, and minimize any potential impacts. I practiced good stewardship and researched on what I could do to protect the environment, and still plant a geocache.

I filled out the Conservation Halton Placement Approval Application forms, and emailed the forms to geocache@hrca.on.ca. Staff are quick to respond (within 48 hours). After a couple slight relocations, since there is a rule about space between geocaches, both of my locations were eventually approved.

The container I chose is a stainless steel container. It is free of BPA, EA (estrogenic activity) and phthalate, which are hormone disruptors detrimental to the health of mammals.

Just so you know the Geocaching community has a program called CITO which stands for “Cache In Trash Out”, meaning that when geocaching you bring along a garbage bag and whenever you stumble upon any litter in the sites you are searching in you simply pick it up and take it with you to properly dispose of it. This is a wonderful environmental initiative that I think any nature lover can certainly get behind, not just on a geocaching adventure, but whenever you are in the parks!

After this foray into the global scavenger hunting adventure, I wanted to hide my own caches for future geocachers to discover. In each of the caches I placed a little owl figurine inside so whoever finds it first be sure to “trade in or trade up” for these little guys.

I wanted each of the names for the geocaches to be anagrams of the parks that they are hidden at. This is a common practice among geocachers but it took me a while to come up with two that actually made sense. This is your first clue! Solve the anagrams to figure out the two parks I hid a cache!

Visit our website for more information on geocaching and send a friend request to the ConsHaltonCache account . If any readers have found either of these newly placed geocaches, comment below! You can tag us in a photo of your adventure on Instagram or tweet us @CH_Comm! Good luck to all geocachers on any future journeys and TFTC* Conservation Halton.

*Thanks for the cache!

1 Comment

Filed under Recreation

One response to “A Geocaching Adventure with Conservation Halton: Thanks For the Cache (TFTC)

Leave a Reply

